Mindset

I haven’t blogged in a week.  I’d been working on a detailed post about the amazing Paleo dinner I attended last week at Departure Restaurant + Lounge for Diane Sanfilippo’s Mediterranean Paleo Cooking book tour.  I had all sorts of links to the paleo “celebrities” in attendance and was attempting to upload photos of the evening, when I ran into error message after error message saying I couldn’t upload photos at this time.  Then I lost the whole entry into who knows where, so I give up!  Suffice it to say, it was a great evening with some wonderful people and to-die-for food.  Sorry I can’t give you more.  (Ok, I just tried one more time and was able to upload this photo of myself with Diane.  Go figure!)

photo-3

Besides that dinner, decorating for the holidays, and hosting a brunch for my book group yesterday, I’ve been feeling rather “meh!” the past few days.  No, it’s not my gut; it’s a head cold that has my nose running non stop any time I’m vertical plus a scratchy throat and the usual symptoms that come with the common cold.  So, I’ve been resting a LOT and trying to take care of myself.  Twice I’ve gone to bed before the kids!

When I was a kid I had a friend who’s mother always seemed unwell whenever I went to her house to play.  I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately.  I don’t want to be that mom who’s kids and their friends have to play in hushed tones so as not to bother Mom who’s not feeling well.  Again!

So far I don’t think my health issues have tarnished much of their fun, at least I hope not.  But what if they have?  My kids are keenly aware of my bloating, belly aches, and fatigue.  It’s hard to hide.  How do you not bring your kids down when you feel poorly?  I’m not going to lie and say I feel better than I do, but I don’t want them to worry about my health either.

I think the answer lies in mindset.  I consider myself a healthy person with some issues that I’m working on resolving.  People who don’t me well comment on how healthy I look, and they’re right!  I am healthy!  I just have some healing to do.  Keeping a positive, hopeful mindset is the key to my kids seeing me in the same way.

Leave a Reply

