RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 1

Many years ago I worked in the real estate industry.  One of the top producers in my office often said, “You can’t expect someone to do something you’re not willing to do yourself.”  He was talking about cold calling.  He had a team of assistants, and they would spend hours a day making cold calls.  He’d be right there with them making call after call.

His words have come back to me over the years in different scenarios (none of them cold calling, thank goodness!), including the sugar detox classes I teach.  How could I really relate to my clients’ experience if I didn’t go a full three weeks without sugar in all its forms?  So, today starts my third sugar detox and I intend to blog about each day – the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Some people assume I never eat sugar.  While it’s true I probably eat much less sugar than the average person, I am human!  My go to sweeteners are real maple syrup and raw honey.  And chocolate chips.  Since the holidays I’ve been popping those delicious dark chocolate honey mints from Trader Joe’s.  Do you know the ones?  They only have 3 ingredients – dark chocolate, honey, and peppermint extract – so I’ve justified eating one a day.  Or maybe two.  It all adds up and I’ve found those pesky sugar cravings creeping back in.  Sugar’s like that.  The more you eat, the more you want.

Today is Day One, and so far, so good.  No cravings.  I woke up and poured myself a full pint glass of water with half a lemon.  Lemon water is a great way to detoxify your liver first thing in the morning.

Water

For breakfast I made the easiest pancakes ever!  Two eggs blended with one green-tipped banana.  Unripe bananas have far less fructose than ripe ones.  They’re not easy to peel, nor are they very sweet.  Topped with plenty of Kerrygold Irish butter, cinnamon, and toasted coconut, they’re pretty darn decadent!

pancakes copy

Since my Wednesday class is at noon, I knew I’d be eating a late lunch.  To hold me over and as a special treat for my class participants, I made these “fat bombs”.  Variations are endless, but these contain Granny Smith apples sauteed in butter and cinnamon with a pinch of sea salt, and topped with a mixture of coconut butter (unsweetened coconut flakes processed into a butter), coconut oil, and vanilla.  Toasted coconut tops these scrumptious, unsweetened, healthy little gems.  I may have had more than one!

Dessert

Lunch was leftover dinner from last night – smoky bacon wrapped chicken thighs and roasted green beans.  The recipe is from Diane Sanfilippo’s book Practical Paleo (I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs).  The whole family enjoyed this simple recipe.

Lunch

Dinner was simple – turkey “pasta” puttanesca!  That’s a fancy way to describe sauteed ground turkey with store bought puttanesca sauce (sans sugar of course…read every label!) over zucchini noodles (a.k.a. “zoodles”).  I sprinkled a little nutritional yeast on top which is supposed to mimic parmesan cheese for those of us who are dairy free.  It hit the spot!

Dinner

With Day One under my belt I feel ready to make it another twenty!  I know it’s not going to be this easy all the way through, but I’m happy to get the upper hand on my sugar intake, one day at a time.

Stay tuned for Day 2.

Leave a Reply

