RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 2

Some people think they’ll feel deprived during the 21-day detox.  I urge my clients to focus on all the healthy foods they can eat, instead of everything they can’t.  Plus, it’s an opportunity to try new recipes out and when you remove all the inflammatory foods, it’s quite easy to prepare simple, healthy, delicious meals.

I started my morning with a pint of lemon water, just like yesterday.  I intend to do this daily as it helps drive toxins out of my liver first thing in the morning.  I do this before eating anything or taking any supplements.  It’s also good to front load your daily water intake so you’re not waking up in the night to use the bathroom.

Speaking of water, most of us are perpetually dehydrated.  Staying hydrated is foundational to optimizing your health.  The general rule of thumb is to drink half your body weight in ounces every day.  So, if you weight 150 lbs. you should drink 75 ounces of pure water daily.  Drink the bulk of it between meals so you’re not diluting your stomach acid which you need in order to properly digest your food.  Sipping small amounts of water during meals is recommended.  In addition, if you drink coffee or tea or any other diuretic beverages, you must compensate by drinking an extra 1.5 times the volume of that beverage.  For example, if you’re 150 lb. person who drinks 8 oz. of coffee every day, add 12 more ounces of water to your daily intake, for a total of 87 ounces.  (Most people should not exceed 100 oz. of water per day, unless they’re an extreme athlete.)

I ate a breakfast fit for a queen!  Well, maybe that’s a slight exaggeration, as a queen would probably eat cream scones with sweet strawberry jam, but I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and didn’t feel deprived one little iota!  I had a 2-egg spinach omelet topped with salsa (remember to always check the label for hidden sugar), 2 slices of bacon, and the apple pie smoothie from the 21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook, by Diane Sanfilippo.  In reality, it was probably too much food, but I ate every last bite and was satiated for hours.

Smoothie

Omelet

21DSDS book

Lunch was exactly the same as yesterday – bacon wrapped chicken thighs with roasted green beans plus a couple of those same “coconut bombs” for good measure.  In the late afternoon I had a small handful of almonds as a snack, which left me with heartburn soon afterward so I will leave almonds out to see if they were the culprit or not.

I encourage all my clients (whether they’re detoxing or not) to keep a food journal.  It’s the practice of writing down everything you eat and drink over the course of a few days, and including how you felt afterwards.  This exercise helps people connect how the food they eat makes them feel (i.e. sleepy, bloated, revved up, etc.) After a few days of keeping a food journal, it’s easy to see how certain foods don’t serve you well and I can make suggestions for alternatives.

I was feeling a bit uninspired when it came to dinner.  I had intended to go grocery shopping today, but I lost my motivation when the weather turned rainy and windy.  Luckily I always try to keep some easy options available, in this case a 4-pack of frozen 100% grass-fed burger patties and a bag of organic greens.  My husband and kids got traditional burgers, while I ate mine as a salad.  No fuss, no muss!

greens

burger

Day 2 is done!  Just 19 more days to go.  Bring it!

Leave a Reply

