RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 5

Today’s been a great day!  No fatigue, steady energy all day, plenty of delicious food, and I got to hang out with my 10-year old son Henry, while my husband and daughter went skiing.  He’s doing the detox with me (my son, that is) of his own volition.  Granted, I haven’t worried about the few pieces of pineapple on his pizza, the ketchup and relish he put on his burger, etc., but it’s been very eye opening to him to realize that sugar’s in just about everything.  The kid’s got will power!  His sister pulled out a tin of those dark chocolate honey mints from Trader Joe’s when they had some friends over yesterday, and he declined.  I’ve told him multiple times he doesn’t have to do the detox, but he want to stick with it.  Wow!

While he slept in, I made the Apple Chai Spice Scones from Diane Sanfilippo’s 21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook.  (By the way, I love that book!  It’s such a great resource during a sugar detox because all the recipes are in one place and they all have pictures.  I’m a visual person and prefer a book to searching the web for random recipes.)  The scones turned out really well and we have 4 left for tomorrow’s breakfast too.Scones

In addition to scones, we ate bacon and eggs, plus half an avocado.  I was full, not uncomfortably stuffed, but with all the good healthy fat, I wasn’t hungry again until around 3:00 p.m.Breakfast

For lunch (at 3:00) I had my leftover pizza from last night.  I reheated it for 5 minutes at 350 degrees, and it tasted just as good as it did the previous evening.

After a big breakfast and a really late lunch, I wasn’t all that hungry for dinner.  Yet, I had other mouths to feed, two of which had been on the mountain all day and were hungry.  (Hmmm, maybe this is a good time to break in and talk about meal planning.  We’ll get back to dinner in a sec.)

So, as I’ve mentioned previously, it’s important to be prepared when undertaking any sort of dietary challenge, be it a sugar detox or something else.  Yesterday during my daughter’s horseback riding lesson, I thumbed through the 21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook and tagged a bunch of recipes that sounded especially good and made a grocery list while I was at it.  On our way home we stopped at Trader Joe’s and picked up everything on my list, plus a few sugar detox staples, like salad greens, green apples, veggies, etc.  Doing this meant I at least had the ingredients to make a few days’ worth of food even though I hadn’t really planned menus for each day.  That’s the next level of meal planning, and I hadn’t quite gotten to it.

Back to dinner.  I looked at the pages I had tagged and picked a quick and easy recipe – the Artichoke & Lemon Chicken with Capers.  With a short list of ingredients that required little prep, it was the perfect choice on a night I didn’t feel like cooking a very involved meal. Chicken

I roasted some broccoli florets I had leftover from last night and it was just right.Dinner

I helped myself to a Coconut Bomb for dessert and that wrapped up Day 5.Coco15

Hard to believe I’m nearly a quarter of the way there!

 

 

2 thoughts on “RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 5

  1. Pingback: RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 6 | Nourish Portland

  2. Pingback: RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 9 | Nourish Portland

Leave a Reply

