RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 7

I skipped breakfast this morning. This is something I never recommend!  It’s very important to your metabolism to eat within an hour of waking. However, I had a 9:30 appointment with my naturopath for among other things, a fasting blood draw.

We also discussed my SIBO (small intestine bacteria overgrowth) protocol.  I’m almost half way through a 4-month natural antibiotic regimen.  My digestion is more normal than it’s been in ages, I reported. I told him I was also on day 7 of this 3-week sugar detox.  We talked about the fact that I’ve had few, if any, negative detox side effects.  It could be because my diet before wasn’t all that different than it is now, except I’m not consuming any honey, maple syrup, chocolate, wine, or grains of any kind.  And I’m concurrently detoxing from heavy metals as well with large doses of chlorella and cilantro, both heavy detox agents that I’ve been on since late November.

Anyway…

Since I skipped breakfast, needless to say I was famished by lunch time.  As luck would have it, I had an early lunch planned with a friend at one of my favorite Portland restaurants – Cultured Caveman!  I started with a buttered decaf coffee w/ coconut cream on the side.  Buttered coffee is just what the name implies, coffee with Kerrygold butter (and in this case MCT oil too).  Good stuff!  Coffee

My entree was the pork carnitas with a side of curried cauliflower soup.  I practically licked my plate clean!carnitas

I had a handful of almonds for a snack while I was reheating leftovers for dinner.  All this cooking makes for lots of leftovers.  I talked up the pizza to my husband so I would get the last turkey pot pie.

It’s hard to believe the first week is done.  Two more to go!

 

Leave a Reply

