RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 10

Day 10 already!  Almost half way there.  I can honestly say this detox business gets easier the more times you do it.  I did my first detox/elimination diet back in 2011 when I gave up gluten, sugar, caffeine, dairy, corn, soy, and alcohol for 28 days full stop.  My ND prescribed this anti-inflammation diet and it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.  In many ways it also led me to become a nutritionist.  I did this RESTART Sugar Detox for the first time a year ago, along with my first class.  And here I am again, 10 days in.

Breakfast this morning was a Pumpkin Spice Smoothie – refreshing, smooth, and filling enough to fuel me until lunchtime.

I taught my Friday RSD class where most participants are on Day 8.  Almost everyone had some detox symptoms the first week (headaches, irritability, lethargy, etc.) but everyone had pushed through and was starting to feel much better.  Some commented how proud they feel to have made it through the first week without a single “cheat”.  (I really don’t like that word.  If we slip up, we forgive ourselves and get right back to it.)  It’s so inspiring to see people achieve something they never thought they could do, or have failed over and over in past attempts.  I love my job!

After class, my friend and I went to lunch at a nearby Asian restaurant.  She bravely walked up to the counter and asked which menu items contained no sugar.  After consulting the cook, there was exactly one menu item that was sugar free – garlic shrimp skewers.  We each ordered two skewers with a side of steamed vegetables, no sauce, no rice, no nothin’.  Luckily the shrimp were flavorful enough to season the meal.  The waiter invited us back again for our special dish.Shrimp

My afternoon snack was 5 macadamia nuts and maybe a dozen pistachios.  Amazing how some healthy fat can carry you through.

Dinner was easy:  burgers and fries!  Well, mine was a “burger salad” and my “fries” were Seasoned Sweet Potato Fries from The 21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook. I’ve attempted to make baked yam fries in the past and they’ve always turned out too soft.  These held up well and tasted awesome with my bacon and guacamole burger with tomato on a bed of spinach and arugula, dressed in a bit of olive oil.  To save time, I bought the grass-fed burgers and guacamole from Trader Joe’s.  These are good go-to foods to always have on hand when you’re not in the mood for a big production, but you are in the mood for a tasty dinner.TJ's 1

TJ's 2

Burger

YUM!!!

Tomorrow’s the halfway mark.  I can do this, I can do this, I can do this!

(By the way, I’m forming new detox groups for February and also leading a 10-week class to help people determine their underlying causes of weight gain.  You can read more about this “Get at the Roots” class here. If you’re interested in either class, please send me an email:  courtney@nourishportland.com.)

Leave a Reply

