RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 12

It was a beautiful, sunny January day here in Portland, with temperatures nearing 60 degrees!  Wow!  (I’m talking about the weather because this sugar detox is becoming so normal it’s kind of like discussing the weather.  It’s not rain or wind, it’s not hot nor cold, it just is what it is.)

Today was a day of odd meals.  I didn’t really follow my meal plan.  I just sort of winged it and we ate at weird times.  So, I won’t break it down by breakfast, lunch, and dinner – I’ll just reiterate what I ate throughout the day.

I started with a cup of herbal tea and a splash of coconut milk, followed by a Pumpkin Spice Smoothie, which I drank part of until I felt satisfied.  We went to a morning birthday party for our friends’ daughter and had a late morning snack there.  Birthday parties can really kill the mood of a sugar detox, but there were plenty of healthy choices, including veggie skewers (tomatoes, cucumbers, mushrooms, broccoli), green apple and blueberry skewers, ham rolls, tahini, almonds, etc. (not all shown on my plate).Skewers

Then there was dessert:  Ice cream sandwiches!  My family is gluten-free (as are the hosts) so they had Paleo options for us.  I really vacillated about whether or not to have one, then I chose to go ahead.  It was smaller than the size of my palm, and the only sweetener was maple syrup, so I’m not counting it as much of a “cheat”, but technically it’s not on the detox menu.  I ate it anyway, without guilt, and enjoyed it.  Ice cream

When we got home from the party, nobody was really hungry.  In the afternoon I finished my smoothie from this morning and snacked on some macadamia nuts and olives.

My intention was to make pork tenderloin with roasted carrots and parsnips and salad for dinner, but we got distracted working on our budget and by the time we were done it was after 7:30 p.m.  So, we had leftover Curried Chicken Salad instead.

I want to add a few thoughts on meal planning.  Last weekend I earmarked all the recipes I wanted to make this week from The 21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook and purchased all the ingredients.  It meant only one big trip to the grocery store (with a run to Costco too) and plenty of food all week, including lots of leftovers.  I don’t always do this, but I noticed it made for much less stress around meal prep and it also helped us stay within our budget.  I’m definitely going to attempt to do this more often!

Onward!

Leave a Reply

