RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 13

I’m reading the book Deep Down Dark:  The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle That Set Them Free by Hector Tobar and can’t put it down!  Even though we know the ending is a happy one, this telling of the story is so gripping, so beautifully written and full of emotion, I almost feel as if I’m there.  Except I’m in the comfort of my own home, above ground, with more than one bathroom, fresh running water, electricity, and plenty of food to eat.  The miner’s aren’t even discovered alive until they’ve been buried for 17 days and their food supply of packaged cookies and tuna has all but run out. All they’ve eaten is a teaspoon of tuna and half a cookie, every other day.  They are literally starving to death.  I, on the other hand, am living without sugar and I’m on day 13.  Big. Friggin’. Deal!DDD

I’m almost ashamed to mention what I’ve eaten all day, but here you have it:

I started my day with a Pumpkin Spice Latte from The 21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook.  To be honest, I didn’t care for it much.  It tasted thick and grainy, thought the flavor was good.  Latte

I ate a 2-egg omelet with guacamole and salsa to round out the meal.Omelet

For lunch I made the Creamy Cucumber Salad and tossed it with spinach and arugula, topping it off with canned wild salmon from Costco.  It was surprisingly good!  (I was mainly surprised by how much I liked the canned salmon.)  Salmon salad

I got the munchies in the afternoon, as I continued to read the story of the trapped miners, and decided a handful of nuts (pistachios and macadamia) was plenty, even luxurious.

The kids wanted pasta (always gluten-free in our above ground house with running water) and since I’m not eating refined carbs, I sauteed baby kale in butter for my “pasta”.  I sprinkled a bit of nutritional yeast on top for added flavor.  (This was just ground turkey and jarred Puttanesca sauce from Trader Joe’s.)  It hit the spot.Kale w: sauce

Tomorrow marks the end of week 2.  I’ve noticed steadier energy today and hope that sticks around.  Mostly, I’m just humbled to be able to eat this way and so thankful for all of these delicious meals.  Maybe if I was trapped more that 2200 feet under ground for weeks on end I’d eat some packaged cookies, but they don’t sound at all desirable to me right now.

*Special note:  Today a friend brought to my attention that The 21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook should not be confused with The 21 Day Sugar Detox book.  Both are written by Diane Sanfilippo, and both are great, but the one I’ve been referring to in my blog posts is the cookbook.

 

 

One thought on “RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 13

  1. Pingback: RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 14 | Nourish Portland

Leave a Reply

