RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 16

I’m not going to tell you what I ate for breakfast.  You already know.  It’s become a habit.  But, I will tell you how my morning went with the KATU News interview.  I think it went really well.  I won’t know until Tuesday morning when it airs at 0-dark-hundred (i.e. REALLY early!).  I’m to report to the station at 6:20 a.m. which is right after I usually hit the snooze button for the first time.  Lincoln Graves is the morning anchor who contacted me Monday saying he wanted to do the detox and document it on his news show.  He interviewed me at Fred Meyer where I talked about how devastating sugar is to your health.  We strolled the aisles searching for things like real, 100% coconut milk and jarred pasta sauce w/out sugar (neither of which we could find); spent some time in produce where I tried to get him excited about all the possibilities; and I gave him the list of foods he can and can not eat during the detox, at which point the cameraman zoomed way in to capture his facial expressions.  I’m not giving it away.  You’ll just have to watch the news next Tuesday morning.  Anyway, I had fun and really appreciated the opportunity.  Ironically, his Day 1 (next Tuesday) is my Day 21 of the detox.  I wonder which one of us will be more excited?

After the interview ended, I treated myself to a to-go lunch from my favorite food cart – Cultured Caveman.  Their food rocks!  I enjoyed their Chicken Tenders and a Kale, Carrot, and Beat Salad with ginger dressing.  And a Ginger Fixx  from Lion Heart Kombucha.  So, so good!  (By the way, I’ll be teaching the RESTART Sugar Detox at Cultured Caveman Restaurant in North Portland beginning in February.  Still working out the details, but if you’re in that neck of the woods and want to sign up, give me a shout.)CC

I was so full from lunch that I really wasn’t all that hungry for dinner until rather late.  It wasn’t picture worthy either.  I had one piece of leftover Bacon-Wrapped Pork, the remainder of my salad from lunch, and a fried egg, plus 6 1/2 macadamia nuts.  Weird, but satisfying!

Five more days?  Piece of cake (so to speak)!

2 thoughts on “RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 16

Leave a Reply

