RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 18

I really, truly can’t believe I just finished 18 days without sugar.  If I wasn’t blogging about it daily, I would completely lose track of which day I’m on.  It’s become second nature.

I already mentioned that I’d make a huge batch of pancakes for breakfast since we had house guests.  It was really sweet when my son’s friend told his mom to be sure to get the recipe.  I sextupled (I know that’s not a real verb) the recipe and all of our plates were completely clean afterwards!  I think that’s a good sign.

My husband and the kids and their friends had hot dogs, green apples, and potato chips (cooked in avocado oil…the only ones I allow in the house) for lunch, while I made salad for my friend and me.  A mixture of baby kale, arugula, other lettuces and herbs, olive oil and lemon juice, red bell pepper, avocado, and a can of wild salmon made up our salads.  We cleaned these plates too! (Side note, most commercial salad dressings contain sugar.  I haven’t bought a bottle in years.  I usually just use olive oil and vinegar or lemon juice, and if I’m really fancy I’ll make a vinaigrette by adding Dijon mustard, salt, and pepper to the oil and vinegar.  I like simple salads.  Too many ingredients and flavors can get lost.)Salad

I snacked on a small handful of macadamia nuts in the afternoon.  I love their crunch, saltiness, and flavor, and they’re high in fat so they give me energy.  I often use the analogy that healthy fat is like the big log on the fire that burns for a long time, while simple carbs are the kindling that fizzle out pretty quickly.  I tell my clients if they’re feeling hungry between meals, or even after meals, they need to eat more fat!

Dinner was Lemon Ginger Chicken and Asian Sauteed Greens from The 21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook.  This would be a great dinner to make when you don’t have a lot of time on your hands.  There are few ingredients and neither the chicken nor the greens are difficult or time consuming to prepare.Dinner

Just three days to go!

 

 

Leave a Reply

