RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 21

My head is spinning!  This has been such an incredible journey and I’m humbled by all the news attention I’ve received in the past month:  First KGW News Channel 8, then AM Northwest, and today KATU Channel 2 News.  I never expected it, but I am SO thankful for it.  If I can help people kick their sugar habit and get back on track with their health, then I am making a difference in people’s lives.  I can think of nothing more rewarding!  (Geez, someone hand me a tissue!)

It feels sort of anti-climactic to show you what I ate today, this final day of my detox.  Breakfast was the usual, though late because I went back to bed after the news gig.  I then had a late lunch at one of my favorite places  – Dick’s Kitchen in SE Portland.  I ordered what I always order:  A small Dinosaur Kale Chop Salad (no bleu cheese, sub lemon-parsley vinaigrette for raspberry vinaigrette) with a grass-fed burger patty on top and a small side of Yam Not Fries with chipotle aioli.  Water.Dicks

For dinner I made a large salad with stuff I need to use up.  In this case, most of my salad greens were slimy, despite a “use by” date a couple days in the future, so I used up the baby kale instead.  (Is there such thing as too much kale?  I think not!)  I added some color (red bell pepper, avocado, carrots) and crunch (raw sunflower seeds) and protein (chicken).  I tossed it all with a last minute dressing that I made up in my head – tahini, lemon juice, and sesame oil.  It was fantastic!  Even the kids cleaned their plates!more kale

So there you have it!  Twenty one days, sixty-three meals, little to no sugar.  Where will I go from here?  For the most part I’ll stay the course.  However, I won’t stress about the occasional Thai meal, dark chocolate, teaspoon of honey or maple syrup, or even a slice of gluten-free bread.  Living on the edge, I know!

Thanks a million for hanging with me these past three weeks.  I’ll still be here blogging about my own health seeking path.  I still have two months left on my SIBO protocol before I get into the prevention phase (specific carbohydrate diet, I think).  I’m still chelating heavy metals, and my Hashimoto’s isn’t going anywhere, though I wish it would.  So, plenty of stuff to write about.  And, who knows, maybe something will come up that I haven’t even considered yet.  I hope you’ll stick around.

 

2 thoughts on “RESTART Sugar Detox, Day 21

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this part of your journey with us! It really helps to see how someone else does it and to see that it really isn’t that hard and the rewards are so great! Congratulations on your well-deserved news spots of late, too. I wouldn’t be surprised if there were more in your future! The world needs this info and you share it so well! I look forward to reading more about your healing journey and am supporting you along the way.

Leave a Reply

