My SIBO Update

Warning:  You may have to be a bit of a nutrition nerd to understand or appreciate this post.

I saw my doctor yesterday and told him how well things are going with my digestion. I’m feeling better than I have in ages!  I’m 3 1/2 months in to my 4-month herbal antibiotic SIBO protocol.  I take a cocktail of herbs (including oregano oil, garlic, neem, and berberine complex) three times a day designed to kill off the overgrowth of bacteria hanging out in my small intestine.  I also take something for bio-films twice per day.  I feel like it’s working:  Abdominal pain is gone, regularity has returned, and bloating is pretty much non-existent.

On April first I begin the prevention phase:  I will cease taking the herbs and start taking a pro-kinetic (low-dose Erythromycin), powerful probiotics (probably Prescript-Assist), and start the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) for three months.  What’s allowed on the SCD?  Meats, low FODMAP (“Fermentable, Oligo-, Di , Mono-saccharides And Polyols“) vegetables and fruit, nuts, honey.  What’s not allowed?  Grains, high FODMAP foods, all legumes, all forms of sugar except honey, starchy vegetables, baking powder, seeds, gums (guar, xanthum, etc.).  And chocolate.

It will be the most restrictive diet I’ve ever done and for the longest period of time.  But I can do this.  I will do this.  Getting my gut health back is worth the seven months of treatment.  I feel very hopeful that this will do the trick, and that my digestive system will be happy.

intestines

 

Leave a Reply

