Day 2: Finding Silver Linings

I’m usually a glass-half-full kind of person, which is really helpful when you’re taking on a major change in life like I am with the SIBO prevention diet.  This morning I made breakfast (bacon and egg scramble, sauteed greens, half a grapefruit) and then realized that grapefruit isn’t allowed (ferments in the gut too easily). Seriously?  Instead of making it a big deal, I consciously told myself, If it’s not serving the purpose of healing my gut, I don’t want it.  I moved on without giving it another thought.Bkfst

During my research before starting this part of my healing, I read that black tea (as well as caffeinated coffee and many other teas) is “legal”.  For the most part, I gave up caffeine a couple years ago.  Prior to that I was a black tea drinker and enjoyed my daily Irish Breakfast tea with stevia and raw cream.  When I saw the box of tea at Trader Joe’s I decided to give it a try.  These days I don’t drink dairy and stevia is way too sweet, so I tried it with about 1/4 tsp. of honey and coconut milk.  Guess what?  I loved it!  It’s every bit as good as I remember.  This will definitely be a daily treat!Tea

In other news, my daughter Catie is home from school today.  She’s not feeling well, though not terrible, so we’re hanging out on the couch while she watches an episode of Cosmos and I blog.  It’s lovely to slow down, rest, and spend the day together.  I guess it was good fortune that I showed up for my haircut yesterday a day early.  I have nothing on my calendar today, so we girls are going to lay low.  Radley’s pretty happy too!Sick day

Catie and I played cards (she beat me 2 to 1 in our best of 3 match) and then decided it was a good idea to take a nap.  Healing requires rest, after all.  I wasn’t very tired, but dozing for an hour with my girl was peaceful.

For lunch I made a smoothie:  Coconut milk, banana, frozen strawberries, blueberries, a few raspberries and pomegranate seeds, a dash of coconut water and dollop of almond butter.  I added a bit of toasted coconut on top to make it look fancy in the photo.  It satiated me until a late afternoon snack of a handful of macadamia nuts.Smoothie1

Smoothie2

After lunch digested, I got my workout in.  Ever heard of Sean T’s “FOCUS T25”?  It’s a DVD set with 25-minute workouts that leave no muscle group untouched.  Let’s just say they kick heinerboom!  I did the Cardio workout and may not be able to move tomorrow, but hey, I gotta’ start somewhere, right?T25

Dinner was baked salmon and more sauteed greens, this time with bacon and orange bell pepper.  Yum!Fish

I’m only two days in and have eaten more greens than in the last month!  That’s a good thing, but I’m going to have to add some variety.  Maybe I’ll take this opportunity to try things I’ve never cooked with before, like bamboo shoots.  They’re on the “yes” list!  And I’m already looking forward to my Irish Breakfast tea in the morning.  (See, I can find the silver lining in just about anything.)

2 thoughts on “Day 2: Finding Silver Linings

  1. Hi there! A mutual friend told me about this blog , which is terrific and empowering. I am wondering if u r working with a specific naturopath for your sibo tx, and if u followed your regular diet during the high-powered antibiotic treatment. And I know Dr siebecker recommends nuts only after 1-3 months of being on the diet.
    I was just diagnosed and I’m trying to figure out how I’m going to follow this when i travel in June and am around all kinds of family and their standard American diet!
    Thanks–u may email me privately as well.

    • Hi Belle! Thanks for visiting my blog and for your comments. Yes, I am working with Dr. Tom Messinger, ND who is the clinic director at Portland Natural Medicine, which also happens to be where I work. I did follow my regular diet during the herbal protocol, which for me was 80-90% paleo. I read all of Dr. Siebecker’s website and met her last year where I was able to ask a lot of questions. So far on the prevention diet I’ve had a handful of macadamia nuts daily, and a couple of times I’ve added a bit of almond butter to smoothies. Let me know if you’d like to chat about the SIBO diet and how you might be able to do it during your travels. You can email me at courtney@nourishportland.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

