Day 6: Raise Your Hand if You Think Fat Makes You Fat

Congratulations to all of you with your hands down!  (Disclaimer:  Trans-, hydrogenated, and partially hydrogenated fats – prolific in packaged, processed foods – WILL make you fat.  But healthy fats will not.)

The prevention protocol (i.e. “diet” though I hate that word) I’m on is Very.  Low.  Carb.  So, what macro-nutrients does that leave?  Protein and fat.  I do eat a fair amount of complex carbs in the form of kale, spinach, chard, arugula, carrots, bananas, blueberries, bell peppers, a bit of zucchini and broccoli, etc.) but I eat ample amounts of good healthy fats – pastured butter, olive oil, macadamia nuts, bacon, coconut milk, coconut oil, coconut CREAM, etc.  And you know what?  I’m down 3 lbs. in 6 days, my rings are noticeably looser on my fingers, and I have steady energy throughout the day.  That’s because fat is the long burning fuel on the fire – it gives us energy.  While kindling, on the other hand, burns very quickly.  Kindling = simple carbs, which turn to sugar in your bloodstream.

So, here’s all the fat I’ve eaten today (so far) along with protein and certain carbs (I’m on the “SCD” meaning Specific Carbohydrate Diet):

Breakfast:  Banana/egg pancakes with butter, cinnamon, coconut whipped cream, toasted coconut, and bacon:Fat1

Lunch:  Sauteed “power greens” in butter and bacon, strawberries and blueberries topped with coconut whipped cream and toasted coconut:Fat2

Snack:  Two palm fulls of macadamia nuts. (A 1/4 cup of mac nuts is about 230 calories.  Calories from fat:  200!)

Dinner:  Slow cooker beef in coconut with fresh ginger, lime juice, red bell peppers, and broccoli.  Not much fat but the 2 Tbsp. of coconut oil I browned the meat in:Fat3

Then again, I haven’t had dessert yet which will very likely be a repeat of my side dish at lunch.

Fat makes food taste good and every cell in our body needs it!  So, when it comes to fat, “Bring it!” I say!

Leave a Reply

