Day 14: Sick, Taxed, and Grumpy

I’ve been absent from my blog for a few days.  Taxes had to get done, my son Henry was home sick for 3 days late last week, and I’ve been grumpy.

I don’t imagine that doing taxes requires much explanation:  It’s hard, stressful, and not much fun!  The good news?  They’re done!

When your child’s sick, you clean your slate and nurture him back to health as best you can.  Though unfortunately I couldn’t take his pain and suffering away, I could give him my full attention and mama love.  We napped together; I held a cool cloth to his forehead; I rubbed his back; I read to him several times which we both really enjoyed; we worked on a jigsaw puzzle when he was up for it; we rested and just spent time together.  He’s better now, thank goodness!

SickPoor little guy was miserable for 3 days!

I’m going to be completely transparent about why I’m grumpy:  I’m sick of this diet and for the past 24 hours I’ve been bloated and worried my SIBO may be back!  There, I said it.  I hope I’m just over-reacting.  Maybe it’s the bug going around my house.  For the most part, I’ve felt well for the first two weeks on this protocol.  But yesterday I started to feel that old familiar bloat, and by evening I looked about six months pregnant and my insides felt like hell.  I ate dinner and took my sorry, grumpy, puffed up self to my room to be alone.  I ended up watching an odd but endearing movie about Beatrix Potter.

I have not wavered from the SCD/low FODMAPs diet even once!  My eating has been impeccable.  So, what’s the deal?  I’m not sure.  Perhaps I reacted to something I ate?  The only thing that changed is I had toasted pecans on my pancakes instead of coconut – not exactly a transgression!  Oh, and because I worked on taxes through the dinner hour on Sunday, we ate dinner out at Laughing Planet.  I scoured the menu and decided there was nothing I could safely eat.  My family ordered their dinner, and I sat down with the menu and wanted to cry.  But the very helpful and sweet server came to my rescue.  She pointed to the smoothies and she custom made one for me with banana, strawberries, peanut butter, kale, and spinach, with water instead of apple juice.  It hit the spot.  But maybe the peanut butter didn’t agree?  So, I’ll keep peanut butter and pecans out and see what happens.

I’m fortunate to work about 6 feet away from my naturopath.  So I asked him at lunch what might be up with my gut.  Because I did so well on my 4 months of herbal treatment and have been perfect in my eating, he’s guessing my symptoms are unrelated to SIBO.  I hope he’s right.

When I say I’m sick of this diet, I don’t mean that it’s not worthwhile, it’s just hard.  I walk up and down the produce aisle and feel dismayed that about 80% of it is off limits.  And that’s produce!  Besides meat, seafood, butter, and coconut, I might as well forget the rest of the store all together!  WAH!!!

Ok, my rant is over.  Here are some meals I’ve had these last few days that are a bit different than my usual:

 Green juiceGreen juice:  Cucumber, parsley, kale, spinach, chard, lemon, pineapple.

SalmonSalmon burgers over arugula:  2 cans wild salmon, egg, scallions, dijon mustard, pepper.

Burger bowlBacon/burger bowl:  Grass-fed patty, 3 slices bacon, tomatoes, arugula, lemon juice, olive oil.  Side of red grapes.

Family dinnerFamily dinner at Laughing Planet w/ my green smoothie in the foreground.

PeasSauteed grass-fed beef with red bell pepper, greens, cherry tomatoes and peas.  Surprisingly tasty!

UPDATE:  9:06 p.m. The bloating is gone.  I’m feeling better.  I think I’m going to live.

Leave a Reply

