Day 21: Onward!

Hey!  It’s been a while.  No, I haven’t had writer’s block since my last post.  In fact, I’ve started a couple posts on things I really want to share (poop being one critical topic!) but haven’t felt the motivation to finish writing them.   I’ve just felt like crap (pun intended) and haven’t felt like blogging.  But in the last 24 hours or so, I’ve started feeling better.  I’m not sure why.  I’m not even sure why my gut was unsettled and distended for days on end.  I don’t know why I initially lost 5 pounds and then gained it all back.  I have not strayed from my SIBO prevention/healing protocol even once in three weeks:  No grains or gluten, no dairy, no processed foods, no added sugar (except small amounts of honey, which is allowed), no seeds, no legumes, no medium- or high-FODMAP foods.  More no’s than yes’s!  Not even chocolate, damn it!

If nothing else, this has been an exercise in empathy for all my clients and friends who have their own struggles.  I have two friends with Lyme disease.  I recently reconnected with a friend from high school and learned she had breast cancer three years ago.  Lots of people have SIBO, other GI maladies, or much, much worse.  They’re forging on, and so am I.  It’s not about comparing our struggles, it’s about honoring them and knowing despite what someone looks like on the outside or the assumptions we make about them, we never know what they’re dealing with in their lives.

My ‘setback’ (is it a setback or just a healing reaction, or something new yet to be discovered?) has made me mad, scared, depressed, and frustrated.  But I haven’t been wallowing in self pity.  I haven’t given up.  I haven’t lost hope.  I’ve just focused on the basics – eating well, getting plenty of sleep, drinking adequate water, taking walks often, stretching.  Sometimes that is enough.

Wouldn’t that be nice?!!

 

Leave a Reply

