Off the Rails

Since my last post on May 8, I’ve gone completely off the rails, at least as far as my SIBO prevention protocol is concerned!  What does that look like?  Well, it sort of looks like real life.

In the past 12 days, I’ve eaten out a few times.  Most notably, I dined at Paley’s Place, arguably one of Portland’s finest restaurants, to celebrate my dad’s 80th birthday.  He claimed it was the best meal of his life!  I had fresh Halibut en Papillotte (Potatoes, Fennel, Olives, Capers, Meyer Lemon Beurre Blanc), braised greens, the most amazing wine I’d ever had, and for dessert –  Warm Chocolate Soufflé Cake.  Though I made sure not to eat gluten or dairy (besides loads of butter, which I tolerate well), I’m pretty sure FODMAPs were nowhere on the chef’s radar!  Nor mine!  It was impressive!  I was a bit bloated (mostly due to the dessert I’m guessing), but it was totally worth it.  Celebrating life’s milestones are not to be missed!

CatieMy 8 year old’s filet mignon at Paley’s Place (I think I ate about half her entree too!)

Speaking of celebrating, the previous night, my husband and I and another couple went to dinner and the theatre.  We celebrated my husband’s new job promotion.  Dinner was at South Park.  I had Manila Clams (White Wine, Garlic, Parsley, Chili Flake) and a salad topped with fresh Oregon strawberries, hazelnuts, and Parmesan cheese.  Parmesan is a hard, aged cheese, and I read recently that even those of us with casein intolerance (casein is the protein in dairy), the casein in aged, hard cheese is denatured in the fermentation process and often tolerable to those with dairy sensitivity.  So, I threw caution to the wind and enjoyed every bite.  (Still not sure about any reactions to the cheese.  Usually my skin will break out with dairy and so far this hasn’t happened). I had one glass of red wine.  My gut was pretty uncomfortable during the theatre production, but I still felt it was worth it just to indulge.

My son and I had lunch at a great Labanese deli called Karam.  Our meal was entirely gluten- and dairy-free and SO tasty.  Henry said the chicken was the best meat he’d ever eaten.  It was spiced with cinnamon and other fragrant spices.  Our plate also had roasted lamb, rice, hummus, and tabouli.  We ordered a side of their warm, gluten-free pita bread (made with buckwheat) which was delicious.  I felt totally fine after this meal.

We ventured out for Asian food a time or two, and it didn’t sit well with me either time.  You win some, you lose some.

So, I’ve been thinking a lot about my health issues, food issues, and life in general.  I definitely want to heal my gut.  I just don’t want to do it at the expense of taking all enjoyment out of life.  Perhaps it’s a timing issue.  Perhaps I need to be in a different mental space.  I definitely plan to do more research and educate myself on all the options for treatment.  I think if I’d felt better during my protocol I would have stuck with it.  But when I started feeling crummy again, it just didn’t seem worth it.  I also need to re-test for SIBO.  It could be gone.  I have a hunch that my current issue has more to do with yeast overgrowth.  Whatever the case may be, it’s going to take time to figure out.  I read a comment from one of the top SIBO docs recently that it can take months or even years to treat gut issues such as SIBO.  I need to find a balanced approach – one where my physical health, emotional health, and my general well being are looked after.

Leave a Reply

