My RESTART Program Chronicles: Days 2 & 3

Today is day 3 and often about the time that “carb flu” symptoms start raising their ugly heads.  Luckily, though, neither Andrew nor I are experiencing anything unusual.  It could definitely still happen, so I may have just jinxed us by even mentioning it.

Breakfasts yesterday and today have been my favorite meals.  I make pancakes out of 2 eggs and 1 green-tipped banana (per serving) – just blend these two ingredients to make a batter and cook on the griddle as you would any other pancake.  I like to top mine in plenty of butter, toasted coconut, and cinnamon.

img_0251This is what a “green-tipped” banana looks like.

img_0253Batter = 2 eggs + 1 banana per person.

img_0255Full pancake griddle and toasting coconut (unsweetened of course!)

img_0258Voila!

Today’s breakfast was a salmon and spinach scramble, avocado, and kraut.  Pretty tasty!img_0264

Yesterday’s lunch was romaine lettuce leaves wrapped around turkey, cucumbers, red onion, and tahini sauce, which is made from sesame seeds.img_0260

img_0261

Dinner last night was odd, only because it was a strange combination.  That’s what I get for not planning ahead.  I made a pork loin in my Instant Pot (electric pressure cooker) which turned out dry (I didn’t use a recipe, but a client told me about slow cooking a pork loin with a jar of salsa verde.  I’ve done the same with chicken which makes a flavorful, tender, shredded chicken.  But in the IP, it was dry.  I’ll adjust the cooking time next time.)  I served it with roasted cauliflower and a simple green salad.  The cauliflower was the best part!img_0263

Lunch today was leftover pork and cauliflower from last night.  This afternoon I snacked on a small handful of nuts (macadamia and almonds) to hold me over until dinner.  The fat content on mac nuts is very high, so a little goes a long way before you’re satisfied.

For dinner I made one of my favorite curry chicken recipes from PaleOMG.  I didn’t have cilantro on hand, so my picture doesn’t do it justice, so see the link.  I served it over cauliflower rice (from my freezer…thank you Trader Joe’s) and not the one in the recipe, which calls for honey.

Last, but certainly not least, was tonight’s dessert.  I hadn’t had any fruit today, so I sliced up a green-tipped banana, sprinkled some cinnamon on top, added a dollop of coconut cream (just 100% coconut cream from Uwajimaya), and toasted coconut.  Heavenly doesn’t begin to describe it and it’s a million times better than this photo would lead you to think.

img_0268I seriously almost licked the plate!

Boom!  Three days down.  We’re 1/7 of the way there!

Leave a Reply

