RESTART Program Chronicles: Day 5

I often hear clients say that they can actually taste their food on this program.  It sounds crazy but it’s true.  Once you stop masking the flavor of food with sweetener, you can actually taste its natural essence.  Omitting the sugar coating allows our taste buds to enjoy the real deal and it can be a brand new experience even if you’ve been eating that food your whole life!

Today I experienced the true flavor of my morning tea.  For decades I’ve had black tea (English Breakfast, Earl Grey, or lately Irish Breakfast) with milk (now coconut milk) and sugar, stevia, or honey.  More than any other food or drink , I was most concerned about how I could possibly enjoy my morning tea without sweetening it, even just a bit.  The first four days of this detox were ho hum in the tea department.  I didn’t hate it but I certainly didn’t enjoy it.  Until today.  It tasted bold and rich and I didn’t mind its lack of sweetness at all.  In fact, I see no reason to return to adding a bit of honey to my tea when this detox is over.  (Remind me of this later if I forget.)

I kept fatigue at bay today.  I noticed a little bit this afternoon, but nothing like the extreme fatigue of yesterday.  It’s 8:30 at night and I’m not overly tired.  I’ve had no other detox symptoms, so that’s a relief.  This actually doesn’t feel like too much of a challenge, at least this early in the game.  Ask me again in a week or two. 😉

Breakfast was an egg scramble with onion, garlic, and mushrooms, all topped with some salsa and some avocado on the side.  I also enjoyed my daily fruit ration – half a grapefruit.  It was heavenly.  img_0279

Lunch was the last of the leftover curry chicken and cauliflower, and 6 oz. of GT’s Gingerade kombucha.  I didn’t snack today at all which means I must have had enough healthy fats to keep me energized until dinner.

Dinner was simple.  I stuffed red and orange bell peppers with tuna salad (tuna, homemade mayo, celery, green onion, Bubbie’s brand fermented dill pickle relish, and fresh, cracked pepper) and served them on top of salad greens mixed with avocado oil and roasted sunflower seeds.img_0282

Homemade mayo is easy.  I use 1 cup avocado oil (from Costco), 1 whole egg, 1 tsp. dry yellow mustard, 1 tsp. fresh lemon juice, and 1/2 tsp. salt.  I put all the ingredients in a glass measuring cup and emulsify it with an immersion blender.  It whips up in about 15 seconds.  The key to successful mayonnaise is to be sure all ingredients are at room temperature.  My egg was right out of the fridge so I put it in a bowl of hot water for 5 minutes.img_0281

I’ve survived 5 whole days without sugar and I’m doing just fine.

 

Leave a Reply

