RESTART Program Chronicles: Days 11 & 12

Woohoo!  Just nine more days to go!  I’ve done The RESTART Program a few times and this has been the easiest so far.  That’s not to say it’s easy, but I think doing it with my husband makes it that much more doable as we’re both totally committed to seeing it through to the end.

My sleep has improved the last couple nights, which makes everything better.  It’s hard to say if the improved sleep is a result of the detox, or just my luck, but I’ll take it either way.  I’ve had the energy to get stuff done the last two days, including scheduling two more RESTART Programs that start this month.  I even took my first Pilates class yesterday and didn’t die.  I thought for sure I’d feel it in my abs this morning, but I feel it in my thighs.  No offense to Pilates instructors, but they’re sort of into torture.  I’ll definitely go back though.  The guy next to me was in his 70’s so I really have no excuses.  Plus the things he was saying under his breath the whole class made me laugh.

I must have run a dozen errands yesterday, including Trader Joe’s and Costco.  I came home with 6 bags of groceries!  For one thing, they’re predicting another ice storm so one must be ready.  But it’s also the start of the month with a fresh grocery budget.  Yippee!  I stocked up on avocados, Granny Smith apples, grapefruit, green tipped bananas, chicken, beef, pork, veggies, butter, bacon, and kombucha, among other things.  My counter is a bounty of produce!

img_0305That orange isn’t for me,  I swear!  My daughter made me buy it for her.

The best meal of the last couple days was carrot ginger soup.  It was a new recipe to me and it was delicious.  Ingredients included leek, garlic, yams, carrots, ginger, salt, pepper and chicken stock. Oh, and coconut oil.  Because my kids “hate” yams, I blended the soup with an immersion blender and they were none the wiser.  They devoured it.  😉  Andrew had 4 bowls!  It’s gone.  I am sad.img_0303

Breakfast yesterday and today was the usual:  eggs, blah, blah, avocado, blah, blah, 1/2 grapefruit, blah, blah.  Lunch was late yesterday because of all the errands I was running.  I threw together a quick salad with greens with avocado, turkey, sunflower seeds, oil and vinegar.  And a wine glass full of kombucha.  img_0301

The other day I mentioned getting my new glasses but realizing not long after that there was a serious problem – everything slanted to the left.  Everything looked like it was going to fall off the surface it was on, faces looked asymmetrical, everything was wonky for the seven hours I wore them before deciding it was more than me just getting used to new lenses.  Duh!  (And to think I drove all over the place in them.)  Anyway, today I visited the optometrist and explained that there was something really wrong.  Turns out there was a clerical error made in my prescription (like .75 instead of .175 in some measurement in my right lens) and I’m not crazy after all!  Yay!  So, I was in SE Portland around noon with less than an hour to spare before seeing a brand new client.  I knew I couldn’t wait for lunch, so I selected Mekong Grill on SE 13th.  They have GREAT pho!  But pho has sugar, darn it!  (And rice noodles which I would have omitted in trade for veggies).  We found exactly one thing on the menu without sugar – a dressing-less salad with grilled shrimp.  I had them put some toasted sesame oil on the side and it actually wasn’t bad.  Thai and Vietnamese are probably my favorite ethnic cuisine, but nearly all of it contains sugar.img_0307

This afternoon I had a cup of herbal spice tea that hit the spot along with a “dainty handful” of almonds.  Dinner was a bit of a disappointment.  I tried a new recipe called “Chicken Mole over Sauteed Cabbage”.  It was alright, but not my favorite, and certainly not picture worthy.

Twelve down, nine to go!

 

 

Leave a Reply

