RESTART Program Chronicles: Days 17 & 18

Here we are in the home stretch with just 3 days to go.  Today I’ve been thinking a lot about mindset and how taking on a challenge like this can be less difficult with the right mindset.  From the start, I’ve looked at this three week sugar detox as something I know I can do – I’ve done it before.  The reason I’m doing it this time is to support my husband who’s never done anything like this.  So, it hasn’t been about deprivation or obligation, but about support and choice.  I decided that for 21 days I would support Andrew by joining him in eating really healthy food.  We are both benefiting from that choice.  I feel really good, have lots of energy, feel better in my clothes, and so on.

Yesterday’s breakfast was the pancakes, but I used coconut oil instead of butter.  I topped them with toasted slivered almonds for crunch.  I had a friend over for lunch, a fellow NTP, and made the carrot ginger soup and a green salad with the usual suspects.  Ginger is settling to the stomach and she reported feeling better after eating it (she’d had a crummy tummy earlier).  I had another bowl of the soup for dinner, and a banana sprinkled with cinnamon, coconut cream, and toasted coconut for dessert.  (Yes, I had 2 green tipped bananas in one day.  It was intentional and I really enjoyed it.)

Today we had scrambled eggs, bacon, grapefruit, and avocado for breakfast.  I had a staff meeting at noon (I work in a naturopathic clinic) and had invited a guy named Ben to come talk to us about his new meal delivery service.  He brought some food samples and they were absolutely delicious.  His business is called Thrive Healthfully and he specializes in special diet meal delivery.  His business partner is a classically trained chef.  Ben suffers from Crohn’s Disease and Rheumatoid Arthritis and created this company to help others with similar issues.  The samples he brought were:  Jicama and Apple Salad with Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette (w/turkey|celery| romaine|thyme), Dashi Poached Black Cod (w/carrot puree|wild mushroom|garlic chips|wilted spinach), and Pork and Liver Meatballs (w/ zucchini noodles and roasted cauliflower).  It was heavenly!  img_0325

I had another long auction meeting this afternoon and decided there was no way I could get dinner on the table before everyone starved to death, so I took the kids to Ploy’s Thai just up the street.  They have a dependable gluten-free menu.  Thai food is challenging on a sugar detox because nearly every dish contains sugar.  Even fish sauce, a very common ingredient, has sugar.  I did my best and ordered the Chicken Larb – a cold salad with ground chicken, green cabbage, red onions, lime juice, basil, mint, and lots of spice.  I didn’t touch the rice, or the noodles or curry dishes that my kids ordered.  It was tasty.

img_0328

Just three more days.

Leave a comment